header image

Multiracial Parents: Mixed Families, Generational Change, and the Future of Race

The views and experiences of multiracial people as parents The world’s multiracial population is considered to be one of the fastest growing of all ethnic groups. In the United States alone, it is estimated that over 20% of the population will be considered “mixed race” by 2050. Public figures—such as former President Barack Obama and Hollywood actress Ruth Negga—further highlight the highly diverse backgrounds of those classified under ...


Does Anybody Else Look Like Me?: A Parent's Guide To Raising Multiracial Children

"Am I black or white or am I American?" "Why don't my eyes look like yours?" "Why do people always call attention to my 'different' hair?" Helping a child understand his mixed racial background can be daunting, especially when, whether out of honest appreciation or mean-spiritedness, peers and strangers alike perceive their features to be "other." Drawing on psychological research and input from over fifty multiracial families, Does Anybody Else Look Like Me? addresses the special ...


Tomorrow's Children : Meeting the needs of multiracial and multiethnic children at home, in early childhood programs, and at school.

In this important contribution to the understanding of multiracial and multiethnic identity, Dr Wardle, one of the foremost authorities on these issues, offers new insights and knowledge for parents, educators, and social work professionals. His impressive range of exertise and the lived experience of two decades with his own biracial family provide the sources for his special knowledge.....Francis Wardle clearly states the purpose of this book is to help parents and teachers develop security, ...


Mixed Like Me

Mixed Like Me is a delightful children’s book addressing a most important building block in a child’s development: the element of positive self-esteem and pride. With the prevalence of blended racial and cultural differences in our society, children of various ethnic backgrounds often question the differences in appearances among themselves, their friends, and other family members. This charming children’s book reinforces an interracial child’s self-image, identity, and value, ...


The Risk of Us

A poignant, dazzling debut novel—perfect for fans of Jenny Offill and Rachel Cusk—about a woman who longs to be a mother; the troubled child she and her husband take in from the foster care system; and the joy and terrifying calamity that come from forming an unconventional family


All of the Pieces that Make Me, Me

Miyoko is overjoyed that she may have finally found the answers to a few puzzling questions regarding her self-identity in her homework assignment. But what she doesn’t know is that after tracing her family tree she will discover that she comes from a very diverse background, leaving her more confused than when she started.